Now, when you enter a customer transactions (estimate, sales order, invoice) or a vendor transaction (purchase order, bill), there’s a new window to the right called history. When you select the customer/vendor, the history will be shown for that particular person. The history will show recent transactions, and also includes a hyperlink to take you directly to the transaction. There is even a section for basic information with Phone number, Open Balance, and any open sales order or purchase orders that need to be invoiced/received. It also includes a link to edit the person, and will display any notes you have entered for them (which makes the note field more useful).
While this can be a very useful feature, there are some people who don’t need it or want it. The nice thing about this new feature is you can hide this history. There’s a button on the upper left of the history, which when clicked will ‘disable’ this feature. It does need to be done once on each transaction, and you can always get it back, but it is nice to have the option for those people who like QuickBooks the way it was.