Note: If you are using Advanced Inventory to manage inventory in the Enterprise edition of QuickBooks, you can only create the Accountant’s Copy if you turn off the Advanced Inventory preference. (You can turn it back on once the Accountant’s Copy has been created) If you’re Accountant enters changes that will affect inventory, the items will be under the ‘unspecified location’ once the changes are imported, you will then need to manually change the site location for those items / transactions.
Important: You cannot create an Accountant’s Copy if you have transactions that need to be sent to Intuit for processing (such as Assisted Payroll or Direct Deposit payments). You must send all pending transactions before you create an Accountant’s Copy.
What you should know about Accountant’s Copy • When you create an Accountant’s Copy, you set a dividing date. You work with transactions dated after the dividing date, and your accountant works with transactions dated on or before the dividing date.
How it works 1. Create an Accountant’s Copy and send it to your accountant. In addition to your current way of giving your accountant files (e-mail, disk, FTP), you can also use the Accountant’s Copy File Transfer, an Intuit Web service. 2. Continue working on transactions dated after the dividing date. 3. When your accountant’s work is complete, he or she sends you an accountant’s change file. 4. Review and import changes into your company file. While your accountant is working with the Accountant’s Copy, you can continue to work in the current period (after the dividing date).
To prevent your work from conflicting with your accountant’s work, there are limitations to what you can do after creating an Accountant’s Copy.
• Transactions: You can work only on transactions dated after the dividing date.
• Accounts: You can add a new account, but you cannot add a new subaccount to an existing account. Existing accounts: You cannot edit, merge, or make an existing account inactive. New accounts: You can edit an account or make any account inactive that you created while your accountant has the Accountant’s Copy. • Lists (other than Chart of Accounts): You can edit, sort, and make list items inactive. You cannot delete or merge list items.
• Reconciling: You can reconcile your accounts while your accountant has an Accountant’s Copy. All reconciliations that include transactions in the current period (after the dividing date) are saved and will not be undone. To prevent conflicts with your accountant’s changes, reconciliations that include transactions dated on or before the dividing date will be undone when you import your accountant’s changes. If your accountant has reconciled or undone reconciliation for any period, any reconciliation you did will be undone when you import your accountant’s changes.